Absurd Minds

More than 100 years without a motto.
It is currently 17 Oct 2017 16:34

All times are UTC-04:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 35 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Arena refresher
PostPosted: 01 Aug 2017 06:34 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 25 Mar 2010 19:07
Posts: 7952
Quote:
It is ridiculous and honestly kinda archaic when you think that a game in 2017 cannot connect through a DNS name (arena.absurdminds.net) rather than an IP.
You can connect through a DNS, and lots of servers utilize this. (I'm actually impressed you haven't seen any, since this is how fragshack and many other huge name servers operate.) However, how would connecting through a DNS allow the redirecting of traffic to other servers? Can I write a linux script to do it?

EDIT: Or maybe something with IPTables? <If player attempts to connect to port 27025, check such-and-such script. If script echoes player count greater than 19, direct traffic to port 27026>?

_________________
[AM] Amaroq
Server list
Donate
Image


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Arena refresher
PostPosted: 01 Aug 2017 13:08 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 24 Feb 2015 09:39
Posts: 1013
Quote:
You can connect through a DNS, and lots of servers utilize this. (I'm actually impressed you haven't seen any, since this is how fragshack and many other huge name servers operate.) However, how would connecting through a DNS allow the redirecting of traffic to other servers? Can I write a linux script to do it?

EDIT: Or maybe something with IPTables? <If player attempts to connect to port 27025, check such-and-such script. If script echoes player count greater than 19, direct traffic to port 27026>?
Ah, didn't know. Never really played any community server other than AM. How come we haven't set up arena.absurdminds.net? It isn't hard to setup an SRV record (domain:port) for this.

Mainly you are requesting the port and you will be sent straight to that service. I don't know if it will allow the server you are connecting to to redirect you. IPTables does work for things like that, but its a matter of if it breaks the client connection.

That being said, I could screw around and actually test this by setting up my own domain stuff with my server and then playing with IPTables.

_________________
Image


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Arena refresher
PostPosted: 01 Aug 2017 13:24 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 25 Mar 2010 19:21
Posts: 4797
Yeah we have had dns working on our servers for a few years now.

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk

_________________
I'm so official, like a dealer with a pistol or referee with a whistle.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Arena refresher
PostPosted: 01 Aug 2017 13:42 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 24 Feb 2015 09:39
Posts: 1013
Quote:
Yeah we have had dns working on our servers for a few years now.
What is it? I haven't seen it anywhere and every place listing the servers only show the IPs.

_________________
Image


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Arena refresher
PostPosted: 01 Aug 2017 13:47 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 25 Mar 2010 19:21
Posts: 4797
I might just be thinking of mumble. I am pretty sure anubis had dns for some servers a while back but I can't remember now.

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk

_________________
I'm so official, like a dealer with a pistol or referee with a whistle.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Arena refresher
PostPosted: 01 Aug 2017 14:19 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 28 Mar 2015 22:47
Posts: 72
If not then even reconnecting using motd would be doable since it's just a web page and you could clock on a different server if the current one is full. Or through a button it would check which other server is not full and reconnect. Actually... Can you? I know you can launch cs and connect to a server from a web browser but would it work similarly using motd?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Arena refresher
PostPosted: 01 Aug 2017 14:26 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 24 Feb 2015 09:39
Posts: 1013
Quote:
If not then even reconnecting using motd would be doable since it's just a web page and you could clock on a different server if the current one is full. Or through a button it would check which other server is not full and reconnect. Actually... Can you? I know you can launch cs and connect to a server from a web browser but would it work similarly using motd?
Yes, but that requires connection first. We are thinking of a way to implement this that doesn't require one server to be a portal server.

_________________
Image


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Arena refresher
PostPosted: 01 Aug 2017 14:29 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 28 Mar 2015 22:47
Posts: 72
What if you leave one or two spots available but not usable so you can at least connect to the server and go from there. Making the server itself double as a portal server.


Top
   
PostPosted: 01 Aug 2017 14:38 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 25 Mar 2010 19:07
Posts: 7952
Quote:
I don't know if it will allow the server you are connecting to to redirect you. IPTables does work for things like that, but its a matter of if it breaks the client connection.
Well that's what I'm trying to say. It breaks down on client side. You can't direct traffic that connects to one ip:port and force it to connect to a different ip:port through csgo. It's considered a security thing and valve tried to make it impossible.

_________________
[AM] Amaroq
Server list
Donate
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: 01 Aug 2017 14:43 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 25 Mar 2010 19:07
Posts: 7952
Quote:
Quote:
Yeah we have had dns working on our servers for a few years now.
What is it? I haven't seen it anywhere and every place listing the servers only show the IPs.
There's no point doing it now that servers have a unique ID. A person just has to favorite the server and it stays in your list forever. Nobody connects to servers through a connect command, so there's no point going through the hassle, no matter how little the hassle is.

_________________
[AM] Amaroq
Server list
Donate
Image


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Arena refresher
PostPosted: 05 Aug 2017 18:44 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 25 Mar 2010 19:07
Posts: 7952
I added a few maps we used to run on the server but took off in order to reduce the number of maps.

workshop/254680738/am_train
workshop/256161868/am_desert
workshop/256877071/am_ramps
workshop/288379017/am_desert2
workshop/355110594/aim_dexture_minecraft
workshop/320966333/am_harz
workshop/349497125/am_killdepot

_________________
[AM] Amaroq
Server list
Donate
Image


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Arena refresher
PostPosted: 08 Aug 2017 17:31 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 28 Jan 2016 18:27
Posts: 330
could we remove mirage_mid_3D1? when you break the vent in one arena it breaks in all arenas

_________________
Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Arena refresher
PostPosted: 08 Aug 2017 18:08 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 25 Mar 2010 19:07
Posts: 7952
Yes lol what an absurd big

_________________
[AM] Amaroq
Server list
Donate
Image


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Arena refresher
PostPosted: 08 Aug 2017 22:14 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 28 Jan 2016 18:27
Posts: 330
not a bug really. just bad and lazy map making

_________________
Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Arena refresher
PostPosted: 09 Aug 2017 07:57 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 25 Mar 2010 19:07
Posts: 7952
Yes lol what an absurd feature

_________________
[AM] Amaroq
Server list
Donate
Image


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 35 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2

All times are UTC-04:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited