Absurd Minds

More than 100 years without a motto.
It is currently 27 Jun 2017 15:13

All times are UTC-04:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: 21 Sep 2016 06:39 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 25 Mar 2010 19:07
Posts: 7687
In the beta, CS:GO developers have increased the maximum rate to 786432, or 6Mbps. We have a 100Mbps connection and 5TB monthly data allotment. Currently, we run 164 slots on our machine, though we generally max out at around 50 slots occupied at any one time.

Will it be safe to set sv_maxrate 786432 on all of our servers?

If the tickrate can only be 128, is there any reason to set rate higher than 128000?

_________________
[AM] Amaroq
Server list
Donate


Top
   
PostPosted: 21 Sep 2016 10:44 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 24 Feb 2015 09:39
Posts: 940
128 tick is really quick already, maybe setup a small test server with the increased tick rate to determine if we should consider a higher tick rate?

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: 21 Sep 2016 13:00 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 25 Mar 2010 19:07
Posts: 7687
It's not tickrate that's changing. The tick will all be 128.

_________________
[AM] Amaroq
Server list
Donate


Top
   
PostPosted: 21 Sep 2016 16:38 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 25 Feb 2012 19:18
Posts: 863
Location: Ontario, Canada
Increasing the rate is just like making the door wider, regardless of the size of the package you are trying to fit through.

Higher rate will allow more data through on high slot servers. Each incoming "tick" will contain more data.

So (rate/128*slots) has to be under 100Mbps assuming that all clients have max rate. Also making sure that our upload speed is about all 100Mbps(12.5MBps). I do think that any instability at the datacenter, the routers, or the server itself will affect the games servers much more noticeably, but its worth testing.

_________________
Hey! He just knifed you, in the smoke so hazy.
Fifteen hundred dollars. That's Kami baby.


Top
   
PostPosted: 21 Sep 2016 17:03 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 25 Mar 2010 19:07
Posts: 7687
Alright, I'll at least test it out on our more popular servers. I see no reason to set our GunGame server that high, for example.

It shouldn't matter how many slots a particular server has, correct? All that matters is the total number of connections to the machine?

_________________
[AM] Amaroq
Server list
Donate


Top
   
PostPosted: 21 Sep 2016 18:32 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 25 Feb 2012 19:18
Posts: 863
Location: Ontario, Canada
Quote:
All that matters is the total number of connections to the machine?


Yes. If activity in the servers increase and yield problems then we can either limit rates or limit slots/servers.(Or upgrade to gigabit). I cant see the connection being the bottleneck vs the CPU when slots get higher.

_________________
Hey! He just knifed you, in the smoke so hazy.
Fifteen hundred dollars. That's Kami baby.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC-04:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited